Stages of Menopause

Let's Talk About It!

Fact Sheet

Menopause is a natural part of the aging process for women. As women approach mid-life, estrogen levels begin to fluctuate and then drop. Common symptoms of menopause include irregular menstrual cycles, hot flashes, and mood changes. Menopause does not happen all at once. It is a gradual transition that takes place over a period of years with it's own distinct stages which include, premenopause, perimenopause (before), menopause (during), and postmenopause (after). Use these downloadable forms to start tracking your journey today!

View or Download the Premenopause Fact Sheet⭳

View or Download the Perimenopause Fact Sheet

View or Download the Menopause Fact Sheet

View or Download the Postmenopause Fact Sheet

Last Updated:

About this Content

The Hormone Health Network is the public education affiliate of the Endocrine Society dedicated to helping both patients and doctors find information on the prevention, treatment and cure of hormone-related conditions.

Ensuring the Quality of our Content

All Network materials, including the content on this site, are reviewed by experts in the field of endocrinology to ensure the most balanced, accurate, and relevant information available. The information on this site and Network publications do not replace the advice of a trained healthcare provider.

Advertisements and Site Content

Paid advertisements appear on the Hormone Health Network. Advertising participation does not influence editorial decisions or content.

Back to top